Unwanted Phone Calls!

Catch42 explores another facet of modern living! Read on…att22.gif - I've searched in vain for the owner of this fabulous wee graphic sent to me in an email! If it's you and you object to my using it please let me know and I'll remove it!

Last night I went to bed at about 3 am and its true what they say “Nothing good ever happens after 2 am” but enough of that. At 8.15 the phone rang! Nobody there, number withheld. I can’t get back to sleep when I wake up so I get up and decide to have some breakfast. The bacon is coming on nicely and the phone rings again.

A voice says,

“Do you know that the average person in the UK can claim back £1900 in Bank Charges?”

Infuriated I press option 2 to speak to an adviser, I hang on for 10 minutes to be connected ….but nothing happens. This is not on, I suffer enough from TV advertising (more about that some other time).

So a quick search on the Internet brings this up…

Telephone Preference Service (TPS)
You can opt out by registering your number, its safe and recommended by the Trading Standards Office. Get on now and stop these people from ringing you. The bacon? Burnt leaving me to try and get rid of the smell before the Wife comes back.

6 Responses to Unwanted Phone Calls!

  1. Sounds like a scam Martin, you were probably being charged £11.50 a min while you were on hold….

  2. catch42 says:

    oh bollox……….. I never thought of that!

  3. talkni says:

    A very good point Matt! Ok.. Catch42 time to check your phone bill and let us know what happened. And a VERY timely warning to us all about the dirty tricks that these callers are capable of.

  4. nerd. says:

    I’m not 100% sure but I don’t think you can be charged when they called you unless you specifically agree to accepting reversed charges.

  5. JCPENNEY VS MACY…

    JCPENNEY VS MACY…

Leave a comment