Orange Charges

I got this wonderful text from Orange the other day and I thought I’d just share it here with anyone who wants to listen! It reads:-

“Hi from Orange. To make a call within this country or to the UK is 38p/min. To receive is 19p/min. A text is 30p. Call 452 free for more info. Enjoy your stay.”

So.. what’s so bad about that I hear you ask. Well I got the text just 200 yards across the border in Donegal! Now, If I’d been in deepest Clare or faraway Cork or even in the wild, yet beautiful, hills of Connemara…. then there might be some excuse that Orange could offer. But I wasn’t and there ain’t!

This is plain robbery. Come on Orange wind yer neck down and start charging reasonable prices for cross-border mobile services. Anybody out there feel the same?

While checking out their website I came across these two superb statements.

Firstly:

orange1.gif

Now if there is a shred of truth in this corporate double speak then Orange will begin the journey to repay all the customers they have been swindling with this scam over the last few years. I doubt if this will happen! But….. as customers we expect not to be ripped off. Time to recognise our expectations Orange!

(Note: and yes…. I suppose that must be the Orange digit the company is giving us in salute! πŸ™‚ )

And secondly – I came across this gem:

orange2.gif

These are the Orange company “VALUES”. I’d love to see Orange live up to this refreshing one! I’d delight in seeing them being BRAVE here and doing things differently. Brave enough to lower changes? Daring enough to find a better way of treating cross border customers? What are the chances? As slim as the latest handset probably!

I see what they say… but the company’s actions tell the real story of their bravery and daring. In practice it’s neither – it’s brassneckery at its most blatant.

…..

4 Responses to Orange Charges

  1. Grace says:

    I know how you feel. I tried to make calls on 2 occasions at the Giants Causeway and I got text messages welcoming me to Ireland and giving me international call rates. And it’s not just Orange – I’m on 02, and the Giants Causeway is nowhere near the border!

  2. talkni says:

    Brilliant… and these are the companies who can pinpoint us all down to 2 city blocks – they say!! Maybe teh system is just tailored to annoy folk? Eh? πŸ™‚

  3. larryni says:

    Once my O2 contract is up I am going to switch to 3. When you cross the border and get on the 3 Ireland network you don’t pay any roaming charges. They seem to generally have better and cheaper packages than the other carriers anyway.

  4. talkni says:

    Thanks for that Larryni. I must go check out the 3 charges. Now if one operator can do this why can’t they all?

    Have you noticed by the way that Orange has not responded to this debate? I must send them another email inviting them to comment!

Leave a Reply

