Glasgow Airport Attack

My heart goes out to those people who were caught up in that horrific attack on Glasgow airport. Everyone had a very lucky escape. We can all thank whoever our god is for that.

glasgow3.jpgNow we have to avoid some of the more horrific responses to the attack. Let’s not assume that every Muslim agrees with the attacks – most do not. Let’s not assume that every Iraqi living in the British Isles agrees with the attack – most will not. Let’s not treat all Arab looking individuals as dangerous – most are not.

Let’s ask ourselves how we would react if our families were being shot and blown up every day? And if we witnessed it every night spread across our television screens, how frustrated would we quickly become at our inability to do anything? Might we be angry enough to turn to violence? The Northern Ireland experience seems to suggest that even mild-mannered, generally law-abiding, intelligent, thinking people are capable of doing or supporting violent acts when times are bad. To assume that Iraqi, Afghan, Palestinian, Chechan exiles are immune from experiencing tremendous anger when they see the continuing carnage in their countries would be foolish. Maybe they need our sympathy and support more than our condemnation.

So maybe we need to be asking more loudly how to stop these wars from happening? Every father/mother/aunt/uncle/boy or girl killed in these countries adds 10/20/30 more pained and angry people who may potentially turn to violence in their grief. That pool of pain has been polluting this world fro way too long. Is it really beyond us in the 21st century to solve these problems? Are we still that ignorant?

If Northern Ireland has taught us anything it is that it’s better to talk than bomb and shoot. How long before the governments of Great Britain and America put more resources into finding a peace than into prolonging a war?

Of course… maybe I’m reading this wrong and YOU have some thought you’d like to share. I’d like to hear them if you do.

7 Responses to Glasgow Airport Attack

  1. plaintain1 says:

    It’s not really beyond us and we know that somewhere along the line, an injustice has been caused. But it’s those in power that can make the difference.

  2. talkni says:

    Hi plaintain1, Yes.. I agree that there has been an injustice done – on all sides, more than likely. But I’m not so sure about hiding behind the “those in power can make a difference” stance. Surely, we can all make a difference, can’t we? We vote people into power but then we can also bug them to do what we want, can’t we?

    An email to an MP, a letter to a home secretary, a word in the ear of a local councilor while standing at the bar, a supportive comment dropped on a blog can all do some good I hope.

  3. plaintain1 says:

    Writing to your MP, surprisingly, can work! But somebody (a really good friend) convinced me that such things work when I had to report a racist headmistress and something was done about it. I was lucky but there are some of us, who are not fortunate to experience that kind of luck! There are some of us who believe that those in power are not there for us, and therefore have to find different ways of addressing that hurt! I am not justifying violence but over time realizing that things are really not that simple. I wish they were.

  4. talkni says:

    Writing to an MP can be hard work… and I know that a lot of the time they ignore any opinion that does not suit their own purposes! (Is that too cynical?) Ultimately, of course, we have the sanction of a vote every few years that can ditch an MP who is NOT doing enough to end wars across this wee blue globe of ours. However, I think we have to do more to raise the eradication of violence across the world as a political issue on which politicians are questioned constantly and their performance measured.
    At every public meeting any politician attends wouldn’t it be nice to have them asked to list what they did THIS WEEK to end violence around the world?

  5. plaintain1 says:

    You are not going to believe this, but about five hours ago, I was robbed in broad daylight by a man demanding money. At first I didn’t take him seriously but the intent on his face, the deadly threats plus his hand resting on something that was tucked inside his jean belt (that bulged suspiciously underneath his shirt) made me feel I’d better take him seriously. When I handed over all the money I had, he then insisted for my mobile and my bag. We now engaged in a sort of eye contact contest, as I could feel my whole being saying ‘No!’ In the end he walked away and disappeared from sight. I was shaking from top to bottom, inside and out as I was wondering whether or not that bulge was a gun..

    As I’m writing this, I am still shaking, and angry. But the more I think about it, the guy was scruffy, thin and God knows what his circumstances are like that would put him in a situation to do something like this.

    My family is very angry. Some of them wondering if I should get a license to buy a gun! (This is the second time that I have been robbed for this year) Whle other members think there is some logic in bringing capital punishment. But for myself, at the end of the day, I know there is a bigger picture surrounding this guy. He has given up on the ‘system’, society and probably himself. The only way he can cope is by attacking people, not realizing there are only so many people he can rob before he is stopped. As I said previously, I wish things were simpler.

Leave a Reply

